Skip to content

Beauty Box 5 February 2014 Review

Ugh, FEBRUARY SUCKS. Just saying, both as a month (this has not been my favourite) and for my Beauty Box 5 February box which was disappointing! Keep reading to find out why :/
Beauty Box 5 February 2014 2

As always, I am super excited to get my tiny teal box in the mail. One of the great things is this box is so compact it fits into apartment-sized mail boxes so you don’t have to wait to pick it up from the post office to see what you got. Although in the Beauty Box 5 February case, that would just have meant dealing my disappointing a little…

Beauty Box 5 February 2014 3

Beauty Box 5 February was the two year birthday for BB5, so I admit I expected it to be a really good box. I already knew about one item from my January review (which you can read here), and I was hoping the box would be loaded with goodies… not so much.

Beauty Box 5 February 2014Rockstar Nails (Full Size: $14.99, BB5 value:  $3.76)

Funk-ify your mani! Apply to clean, dry nails for a pretty and bold color in just one swipe. Want to add cavier? Don’t forget to wait 10 seconds after painting your top coat, so that the polish sets, but doesn’t dry!

My first instinct when I saw these was YAY, because, I mean they are basically my favourite colour ever. But as would be expected when you figure out the actual value (the “full price” size actually includes 8 bottles) these are not high quality polishes– I opened the bottle and it SMELLS. I own so much polish, and I already have a bunch of caviar beads, so this went immediately on my swap board. Where it will probably linger forever.

Beauty Box 5 February 2014 5John Frieda Luxurious Volume Shampoo and Conditioner (Full Size: $6.99, BB5 value: $0.93 )

Do right by your mane and get big hair without the perm! Perfect for fine or color-treated hair, this duo delivers super soft hair with touchable volume and fullness.

FOILIES? Seriously? Ugh, two items in and I’m already angry at the Beauty Box 5 February box. I have gotten so many free John Frieda foil packets (and even the more “deluxe” sample size is offered for free every once in awhile) that this is just.. disappointing. I also don’t need volume or have colour-treated hair, so meh on these. I guess I’ll use them eventually…

Beauty Box 5 February 2014 7Elizabeth Mott It’s So Big Volumizing Mascara (Full Size: $19.99, BB5 Value: $8)

Talk about a mascara you can really depend on! The thin, hourglass wand makes it easy to coat your bottom lashes and prevents clumping while delivering lovely length. Best of all, it won’t smudge, even though it’s easy to remove.

Well I have loads of mascara samples at the moment, so I really couldn’t care less about this especially since it only got okay reviews when it showed up in Ipsy recently, but it’s okay, whatever, I may someday use it. I’m just too annoyed at the Beauty Box 5 February box now to care.

Beauty Box 5 February 2014 6H20 Plus SPA Hand and Nail Cream (Full Size: $15.00, BB5 value: $2.50)

Even the roughest skin doesn’t stand a chance! This lightweight, non-greasy moisturizer is the perfect way to begin the transition from winter to spring. Prepare for compliments!

Probably the only thing in the box I’m excited about, and even then we’ve already received loads of items from H20 in the recent months, I just happen to think the brand is pretty nice. I can always use another hand and nail cream… even though I should probably finish the 5 I own first! This is perfect for winter.

Beauty Box 5 February 2014 4

Not only were the items in my Beauty Box 5 February box disappointing, so was the value. With a yearlong subscription this box comes out to about $8.25 a month, and this month’s total value was $15.19, however if you subscribe month-to-month you pay $12, and that makes this only a slight savings and considering you’re getting foil packets and stinky nail polish, it’s definitely not worth it.

I usually really like Beauty Box 5 so I am super disappointed with this month and having to write a negative review. I really hope BB5 redeems itself in March!

Do you subscribe to BB5? What did you think of the Beauty Box 5 February box?

%d bloggers like this: